Located at the head of Queen Charlotte Sound, the picturesque port of Picton is the terminal for the inter-island ferries that cross Cook Straight to link the North and South Islands.

The Picton community is well known for its friendliness and hospitality, and visitors are soon made welcome. Close to the township there are several short walks through native bush that take you to hidden beaches and lookouts, offering stunning views over the Sounds.

Picton is also the gateway to the Queen Charlotte Track. Stretching from historic Ship Cove to Anakiwa, Marlborough's spectacular 67km Queen Charlotte Track combines unforgettable coastal and bush scenery with awesome views of the magnificent Marlborough Sounds. Visitors can walk the entire track taking three or four days, or simply enjoy a short section of the track.

The romance of arriving or departing the walkway by boat adds to the experience. The use of boat transportation offers the additional advantage of pack transfer between accommodation houses.
With its particular points of historic interest and comfortable accommodation serving good food and wine, the Queen Charlotte Track makes for a great experience. Accommodation along the walk offers chalet and lodge, motel, cabin and bunk accommodation and tent sites.
Waikawa
Just a short drive from Picton is the delightful seaside village of Waikawa. Principally a marina and anchorage for yachts and motor boats, Waikawa is also a sheltered and safe swimming spot suitable for families.

Waikawa Marina is one of the largest marinas in New Zealand. It is a well-equipped, modern marina, only 5 minutes drive from Picton,
There are over 600 berths and 118 individual lock-up boatsheds, with a full range of on-site marine services and facilities including a café and bar. The marina offers access to wonderful recreational activities including fishing, exploring and accommodation in the Queen Charlotte Sounds.
It's a Fact...
GOLD!
In 1864, four prospectors discovered a rich deposit of alluvial gold in the Wakamarina River near Havelock. The news spread quickly and by May there were 4,000 miners on the location. As the Otago gold fields had begun to decline, many miners flocked to Marlborough, and soon there were 6,000 men working around Canvastown. By the 1870's the area was mostly abandoned although some mining for quartz continued into the 20th century.
MarlboroughNet Online Media © Discover Marlborough